The Kesho Trust

Our board

Our Board of Trustees is elected from the four villages. The current board has 10 members, six men and four women. They were elected by the village assemblies from their respective villages. This gives them representational role, while managing the forest. The Board is registered at the national level, and making it the first Board of Trustees established to manage a community forest in Tanzania.

Exif_JPEG_420Members of the board are [from left to right in the photo]:

  • Sambeke Turuni
  • Sunde Simat Tutayo
  • Jackson Ronda Nangiria
  • Mark Talash
  • Meyeyu Pumbun
  • Noolaitete Kumari
  • Makarot Ole Ngoijie
  • Naalaimutia Meipuki
  • Lekoyo Meigweri

The Board is responsible for management of the forest and report directly to the community. It also develop policies for effective community based conservation and has the capacity to enter into agreement with other partners, within and outside the country for the purposes of meeting the community goal of conserved forest.


Enguserosambu Forest Trust (EFT)