Home » About Us » Our People » Board of Directors – Canada

Board of Directors – Canada

Bob Brown

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Bob Brown is the owner and CEO of CAP Management Services, a Canadian company based in Alberta and Yukon. Originally from Ontario and graduating from the University of Waterloo, Bob now lives in Edmonton. He has traveled extensively worldwide and has volunteered annually with Habitat for Humanity.

Brent Liddle

Haines Junction, Yukon, Canada
Brent had an outstanding career with Parks Canada and is recognized as an excellent communicator, teacher and leader. His major posting was as the manager of Interpretive Services for Kluane National Park in Yukon. Brent also used his love of the outdoors and his skills as an interpreter to establish a guiding company and bed and breakfast adjacent to Kluane. His extensive travels and continued interest in environmental education led him to volunteer with the Kesho Trust and he has supported our Africa work extensively.

Dr. Bruce Downie

Founding Director
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Bruce has a broad base of expertise in the field of natural resource planning and management, and in the field of education. His experience primarily includes work in western and arctic Canada and eastern and southern Africa. Bruce is one of the founding directors of the Kesho Trust and has been responsible for the development of the Africa programs of the organization. He is a member of the IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas and the Commission on Environmental, Economic and Social Policy.

Karen Clyde

Karen has lived and worked in Yukon and Alaska for almost 20 years where she has focused on wildlife and habitat management, community-based protected area management, species and habitat management planning, land claim negotiations, and broadly in the area of policy development. More recently, Karen is extending that interest to East Africa, to assist communities to develop community-based solutions to address human-wildlife conflicts.

Previous Board Members

Previous members of the Board:

  • Art Hoole [2005 – 2007]
  • Rob Cairns [2009 – 2017]
  • Leslie King [2011 – 2017]
  • Lauren Law [2011 – 2017]
  • Bob Peart [2005 – 2013]
  • Ellen Perkins [2011 – 2018]
  • Art Wright (interim 2007 – 2009 – Advisory Committee member)

Get Involved